The Off-Broadway Players “cut loose”

As my last semester in college winds down, I was fortunate enough to be able to see two musical theater/dance productions in the same week.  The first, as I blogged about before, was Beauty and the Beast at the Hanover Theater.  Put on by a professional company, Beauty and the Beast cast was made up of trained singers and actors with years of experience.  However, when I took the time to step away from the professionals and watch a performance done by those my own age – those who very obviously love what they do – it was both humbling and touching.

In this case, I went to see Footloose at UMass Lowell.  The university’s theater company, “The Off-Broadway Players” has put on numerous shows such as You’re a Good Man Charlie Brown and A Midsummer Night’s Dream and is widely known around Massachusetts for being one of the most talented and dedicated student-run companies.  I was fortunate enough to know the lead, Nathan Trubiano who played Kevin Bacon’s original role of Ren McCormack.  Coincidentally, Trubiano is one of my best friends from high school and someone with whom I did four years of theater.

I wasn’t disappointed by my friend.  Trubiano and his cast put on an impressive display of vocal and dance talent.  With multiple group numbers, it was hard not to be entertained.  Trubiano , althought not an experienced dancer, was able to pull off the routine with style andgrace, blowing away even me- the toughest dance critic he knows.

I was very excited that I got to see Footloose at UMass Lowell.  It was a great parallel to the professional and collegiate performances I had seen prior in the semeter. It is a once in a lifetime experience that I hope many students are able to take part in.

Published in: on May 12, 2010 at 7:24 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danceandwrite.wordpress.com/2010/05/12/the-off-broadway-players-cut-loose/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

