$60 can go a long way…

Well, I am excited to say that I have successfully spent the $60 that the English Department was nice enough to give me as part of my Independent Study.  Being a senior in college, I am a stereotypically poor 21-year-old and was initially worried about how I would see performances this semester.

Now that the semester is wrapping up soon, I have made a few decisions about which live performances to write about.  I planned on seeing Assumption College’s rendition of Oliver! and while it might not be dedicated to dance alone, I know from friend cast members that there will indeed be dancing.  Can’t hurt to review it!

But my main performance is one my mom found on the Hanover Theater’s website.  She called me the instant it popped up in her Google search: “Marie, I just found the perfect performance for you — Beauty and the Beast is coming to the Hanover!  Can you believe it?”

But in all honesty – it could not be more perfect.  Broadway musicals are known not only for their professional vocals but the dancing as well.  It has been a longtime dream of mine to perform in a Broadway show, but I suppose seeing one is always the next best thing!

I will be attending Beauty & the Beast on Sunday, May 2nd and 6:30 p.m.  I plan on taking detailed notes of all aspects of the show paying special attention to the dancing (of course!)  I am very excited to see this musical; the costumes and storyline alone make me anxious for the beginning of May!  I have chosen balcony seats in order to see absolutely everything.  I will be reviewing it in a special blog post after seeing it.  Hopefully, I can keep my excitement in check until then!

Published in: on April 20, 2010 at 7:28 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danceandwrite.wordpress.com/2010/04/20/60-can-go-a-long-way/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

