Sticks and stones…

I know that look.  Pain passed through her eyes.  She turned back to her computer, clearly stung by the comment that was made.  She tried not to let it bother her.  Sticks and stones after all…. right?

“Sticks and stones may break my bones but words can never hurt me…” That’s the saying.  I don’t think I believe it.  Actually, I know I don’t.  Words do hurt; written, spoken or implied.

It takes a lot to say what you believe.  It takes even more to write it down, cast it in stone, make it permanent, but everyday, that’s exactly what brave writers do.  We know the consequences, we’ve taken the criticisms.  Still, we continue to do what we love.

Some people get it, some people think they do.  There’s a big difference.

Being a writer means being honest, checking your facts and being passionate about the topics at hand.  It can also mean pouring out your whole heart to complete strangers, or even worse, people who know exactly who you are — and judge you from it.  They say that you are your own worst critic and while that may be true most of the time, the critiques of others (especially harsh ones) can be the hardest to hear.

No matter what someone chooses to write about, whether it be dance, journalism (maybe a mix of both?) or something completely personal like their own life experiences, it is something to be respected, not mocked.  I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’ve made my fair share of tough critiques and probably hurt people with my words along the way.  Still, it is without purpose.  Those who use mean words for their own pleasure…to see other suffer?  That’s just wrong.

Sometimes, sticks and stones don’t hurt nearly as much as words.

Sometimes I think I’d rather break a bone.

Published in: on March 29, 2010 at 5:32 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://danceandwrite.wordpress.com/2010/03/29/sticks-and-stones/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

